It’s been just a short bit since I last tried my hand at blogging. I have decided that it is time for a fresh start. Why now? Well because I just had a birthday which means I am at the beginning of a whole new year. Every year I celebrate my birthday as a wonderful day- I anticipate, we celebrate, and then it is over. This year hit me with some different emotions though. Not the “oh no, I’m getting older” type, but the desire to make my birthday mean something more than just cake (even though that is a ridiculously good reason to celebrate!).

This year, I turned 26. My husband and family celebrated me well as always. On the eve of this birthday however, I was apprehensive as I confessed my goal to my husband…26 at 26. I would run a full marathon before my 27th birthday.

I have been running for about 3.5 years now- multiple 5ks, 3 half marathons, and countless training runs. There has always been a desire to see what my body is truly capable of and how far it can go, a marathon being the top goal. This is where the journey begins!

As registration hasn’t opened yet, I have not been able to sign up for my race but I will soon be committing to the Rock’n’Roll Country Music Marathon in Nashville, hills and all!IMG_0972

