IMG_7109

When I started this blog, it was with the idea of staying accountable and sharing my training journey for my first marathon, 26 at 26. I haven’t been diligent in my training due to a lot of other things (fun things) happening in our life right now. I may not be able to share all of that information yet but I am here to tell you that I did it!

I finally started my official training!

Baby Boy has been fighting naps all week so I have been trying very hard to keep him entertained and occupied. Friday afternoon I was out of ideas, and excuses for myself, so I strapped BB in the stroller and we took off!

For this training I am using the Jeff Galloway plan, using intervals. This means that I have no finish time or pace in mind, I am simply going to finish the marathon. Friday I used intervals of 6:1 (6 minutes of running, 1 minute of walking) for my 30 minute run- I actually ended up with a 35 minute run because I didn’t want to stop in the middle of an interval!

Over the next few weeks, I will toying around with my intervals and finding what feels comfortable while still pushing myself to do better.

Overall, I ran 3.29 miles in 35 minutes with a 6:1 interval and BB in the stroller. Not a bad way to start my training!

*Things I love for running: BOB stroller (seriously, the best thing ever!), Hydroflask water bottle with a straw lid, Garmin Vivofit2, Garmin Forerunner 310XT.

