As always, life is unpredictable and busy so I have had to choose between blogging or running. I have done my best to keep up with my training schedule but over the last 2 weeks, I have missed 2 runs- the first was my long run (12 miles) but we were busy working on house projects with my cousin and I couldn’t tear the time away. The second was a short run (5 miles) but i ended up working an odd job every day and by the time I carved out time I thought it would be too close to my long run and I didn’t want to injure myself.

Monday 2/15: Core workout (30 minutes)

Tuesday 2/16: 4 miles (40:13)

  

  Wednesday 2/17: Rest

Thursday 2/18: 8 miles (1:24:18)

  
Friday 2/19: 5 miles (53:27)

  
Saturday 2/20: Rest

Sunday 2/21:Rest

Totals: 17 miles (~3 hours)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Monday 2/22: 4 miles (38:46)

Tuesday 2/23: 9 miles (1:29:34), foam roll/stretch (15 minutes)

  
Wednesday 2/24: Rest

Thursday 2/25: Rest, foam roll/stretch (10 minutes)

Friday 2/26:Rest

Saturday 2/27:Rest

Sunday 2/28:18 miles (3:10:23), foam roll/stretch (30 minutes)

  
Totals: 31 miles ( 5.5 hours), foam roll/stretch (55 minutes), Core workout (30 minutes)

 

I am still limiting my workouts in between runs but definitely not giving up on my cross-training. I am also less than two months out from the marathon and I am feeling it. Sunday’s (2/28) long run at 18 miles was the longest run of my training so far and I can honestly say that it was the hardest run ever. In fact, when talking to the Mr. afterwards I simply said, ” I don’t want to talk about it.” Now, I am learning not to say that it was a bad run or good run- I have days where I see progress and days where I seem to be out of my comfort zone. Sunday’s run was just that- the wind was ridiculous, my gear felt off, my diet and hydration hadn’t been on point- but I did it. I refused to make excuses because at the end of the day I knew I could do it. I wanted to quit with every footstep that I took- I was achy, hungry, blah blah blah…. you get the picture. I just kept thinking about how six months ago, I would have never thought I could run the miles I am now, I knew that if I chose to quit I would have a hard time moving forward with training. I decided that I didn’t care how I finished as long as I did, so there was a lot more walking than I would have liked, I had to stop to stretch multiple times, and I finished. So now I have a 14 miler coming up this weekend before attempting a 20 miler next weekend!

